Samuel L. Gulden Memorial Award

The Samuel L. Gulden Award is made annually by vote of the CSE faculty to a senior who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in the study of algorithms and/or theoretical computer science. The award consists of a $250 prize and a framed certificate.

The award was established in 2010 by the CSE faculty in memory of the late Samuel L. Gulden. Professor Gulden joined Lehigh as an instructor of Mathematics in 1953 and rose through the ranks to become a full Professor of Mathematics. From 1979 to 1982 he chaired the Division of Computer and Information Science in the Department of Mathematics. From 1983 until his death he held a joint appointment in the Mathematics Department and the Computer Science and Engineering Department. Professor Gulden was instrumental in bringing Computer Science to Lehigh. Building on the Information Systems program, then housed in the Department of Philosophy, he shaped the curriculum that, in its broad outlines, is still in place today. Professor Gulden served as a full time faculty member for 52 years.

          trephan-gulden      2017 Gulden Award recipient
Professor Daniel Lopresti and Chanh "Sam" Nguyen

          trephan-gulden      2016 Gulden Award recipients
Tamara Hass, Professor Daniel Lopresti and Adam Kafka

          trephan-gulden      2015 Gulden Award recipient
Matthew Kilgore

          trephan-gulden      2014 Gulden Award recipient
Tyler Trephan and Professor Daniel Lopresti

          gulden-award13-logan      2013 Gulden Award recipient
Logan McNamara and Professor Daniel Lopresti

          wyatt-pierson-2012c      2012 Gulden Award recipient
Wyatt Pierson and Professor Daniel Lopresti

          gulden-award11-sonntagc      2011 Gulden Award recipient
Justin Sonntag and Professor Daniel Lopresti

© 2014-2016 Computer Science and Engineering, P.C. Rossin College of Engineering & Applied Science, Lehigh University, Bethlehem PA 18015.